Large Still Life


Oil on Canvas Paper

Here is my first larger oil painting, after the three studies I was working on. This is the painting the studies were for. I’m happy with how it came out, especially the reflection of the orange in the bottom of the vase. Below is a progression of the painting throughout the layers.The biggest change from the first couple layers and the last was by far the vase with the fruit. Other than that I softened the shadows in the white cloth and darkened some of the shadows in the red.

3 comments
  1. Paul said:

    A lovely painting. Thanks for showing the photos of the work in progress. It helps to see the progression. I love the colors in the tablecloth. They beautifully compliment the bold colors in the main pieces.

  2. SketchBW said:

    Thank you Paul, I think the tablecloth is one of my favorite parts as well

  3. Hi– Just want to tell you that I appreciate your painting. In fact, I used it as an example in my adult painting class in a lesson on value and saturation. Thanx. Happy Painting!

    Creatively,
    Karen
    http://www.ArtistKaren.com

Leave a Reply

