Testing! Testing!


Watercolor & Pencil in Handmade Journal

For some reason I just couldn’t get into the Poets Notebook that I had started to use, it just wasn’t working for me as a sketchbook.  Instead I dug out an old handmade journal I have to use.  My Aunt Holly had originally made it for me for Christmas 2004 to use on my mission but I decided to use more conventional notebooks as my journals during that time.  This journal that my Aunt made me I had transcribed a select few entries from my journals and other writings, attempting to compile them in one place, but after a couple of entries I stopped doing it and it’s been sitting in my bookshelf not being used since.  Recently I came across the artist Charles Ritchie and was inspired by the manner in which he kept his sketchbooks.  It was basically what I had attempted to do with the Poets Notebook.  Remembering that I had a handmade journal I dug it out, removed the more personal pages I had transcribed (putting them in my other journals) and rendered a test image.  I was sitting at my kitchen table and I saw my bag on the floor across the room so my bag became my subject.  The paper hold pencil pretty well as long at it’s not to detailed and watercolor works magnificently, the paper doesn’t bleed or turn wavy or get waterlogged.  I decided to write in cursive (I normally print) because it looks better with drawings.

Leave a Reply

